Yonanas Review

Yonanas Review and Giveaway

This week I finally had the time to take the Yonanas machine out of the box that has been sitting in my spare room since I received it.  I had been busting to get it out and test it.

Yonanas Review

I had frozen a few bananas as per the directions that come with it and I was ready to play.

The Yonanas machine comes with an excellent hard cover book full of some many flavour combinations. It was hard just to pick one to try.  I am looking forward to trying many flavour combinations as we head into Summer.

Yonanas Review

It’s not just bananas that you can turn  into a healthier dessert option, you can add other frozen fruits (perfect for fresh fruit you have frozen when you bought too much eg. strawberries, pineapple, mangoes).

You can also add other things like chocolate, coconut, Nutella, cocoa powder, peanut butter, crushed biscuits to make more exciting flavour combinations.

We tried Simply Yonanas (just frozen banana) on the weekend and the boys enjoyed.

We then tried the Chococolate Coconut recipe from the book and it was delicious.

Here’s the recipe.

INGREDIENTS

2 Frozen over-ripe bananas cut into 8 quarters
60 grams chocolate
1/2 Cup Shredded Coconut

NOTE: Sprinkle coconut onto frozen banana

LETS PUT IT ALL TOGETHER

1. Insert 1/4 frozen banana
2. Add 1/4 of the chocolate
3. Alternate remaining ingredients
4. Sprinkle with remaining coconut and chocolate.
Enjoy
I added a biscuit we had made the previous day.

The frozen bananas gets pushed through the chute and comes out in a consistency resembling ice cream.

Yonanas Review

Yonanas Review

Yonanas Review

Overall, I love that I can turn fruit into a dessert. It opens up many possible flavour combinations and it is safe enough (once assembled) for older children to experiment with their own flavour combinations.

As the weather starts to get warmer I may even serve a Yonanas creation up for breakfast….

GIVEAWAY – NOW CLOSED

I have one Yonanas machine to giveaway to one lucky reader.  Open to Australian residents only. Full terms and conditions in the Rafflecopter widget. This is a game of skill.

To enter simply answer the question in the Rafflecopter widget and leave your answer in the comments.  Goodluck.

WINNER: Lena

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
(Visited 248 times, 5 visits today)

64 Responses to Yonanas Review and Giveaway

  1. Susan Brandt October 17, 2014 at 6:25 am #

    For a fresh summery flavour I would try, mango, peach and banana.

  2. Claire Steel October 17, 2014 at 6:32 am #

    My kids have already voted on their choice of banana, chocolate and peanut butter!

  3. Jane October 17, 2014 at 6:51 am #

    I would make frozen banana, strawberries, pineapple with crushed mixed nuts and seeds plus goji berries

  4. Lena October 17, 2014 at 7:08 am #

    Being a busy mum to 3 daughters, I would love to have something that helps me make delicious healthy desserts in minutes. They always seem to be hungry!
    Love your website and your tips, as any little things to make life easier, make my life happier!
    Thanks

    • Lena October 17, 2014 at 7:09 am #

      And I would love make a banoffee flavoured dessert, banana, caramel and cream, oh to die for!

  5. Chenoa October 17, 2014 at 7:18 am #

    The flavour combination I would make would have to be frozen mango with coconut and crushed macadamia nuts the taste of summer yummy.

  6. jo October 17, 2014 at 7:33 am #

    I would have to say I would like to do chocolate and mint I think that be yummy for the whole family

  7. Dianne October 17, 2014 at 12:32 pm #

    The flavour combination I would make would be frozen strawberries, frozen kiwi fruit and crushed almonds.

  8. Shannon Dean October 17, 2014 at 1:16 pm #

    Oh my goodness, yum! I would LOVE to try the choc coconut! This would be a much better “ice cream” dessert for my kiddies.

  9. PETA October 17, 2014 at 1:24 pm #

    I have a 1 year old who LOVES fruit. I’m thinking nango – (ba)nana with (man)go would be pretty delicious but I’m a recipe book gal so love that it comes with such a good recipe book!

  10. Jenny October 17, 2014 at 2:14 pm #

    A refreshing green tea vanilla milk with white choc chips and chia seeds. Yum
    I also have frozen mango in the freezer ready to whip some up with coconut cream…

  11. Jocelyn R October 17, 2014 at 4:14 pm #

    I’d make banana, honeycomb & peach. It’s delicious!

  12. Sharon Fawcett October 17, 2014 at 7:15 pm #

    ‘Strawberry Lamington’ is what I’d try. Strawberries, chocolate and shredded coconut.

  13. Arlene W. October 17, 2014 at 7:18 pm #

    I would combine Mango, Lime and Coconut.

  14. Denise Skeldon October 17, 2014 at 7:46 pm #

    Would love raspberries and chocolate, yum.

  15. Samantha moon October 17, 2014 at 8:54 pm #

    This looks amazing low calorie and yummy hello!!

  16. Leanne young October 17, 2014 at 8:55 pm #

    banana, Anzac biscuit and chic chips

  17. Tracie October 17, 2014 at 9:00 pm #

    Vanilla and peach , raspberry

  18. Thea October 17, 2014 at 10:15 pm #

    Ooh I could have lots if fun experimenting with flavours!! Maybe banana, mint and chocolate or something tropical like banana, pineapple, mango. Even just plain old frozen banana would be great to try with my special needs son who is an extremely fussy eater and rarely touches (or eats) any kind of fruit!!

  19. SJ October 18, 2014 at 6:49 am #

    For something indulgent, banana, peanut butter and chocolate!

  20. Anna October 18, 2014 at 10:07 am #

    Raspberry and bananna. Or Oreo cookies….. Or peanut butter and chocolate.

  21. Sally October 18, 2014 at 7:09 pm #

    Yum. I’d love to try banana walnut and cinnamon – like a banana cake!

  22. Heather October 18, 2014 at 8:02 pm #

    Hmm decisions, decisions I would choose mixed berry as they are my favourite and mum’s deserve to have their favourite once and a while too.

  23. Joan Kubes October 18, 2014 at 10:12 pm #

    I’d try mint with chocolate, we would all love that combination!

  24. Karlene October 20, 2014 at 7:41 am #

    Strawberry flavour as I don’t have a green thumb but I seem to have a lot of success with growing super sweet, deep red strawberries.

  25. Becci Sundberg October 20, 2014 at 7:56 am #

    Caramel Banana!

  26. Nadine maher October 20, 2014 at 8:05 am #

    Banana, mango and chia, it would be so creamy and sweet, I couldn’t resist!

  27. Lisa October 20, 2014 at 8:27 am #

    For the kids – fruit salad, yummy yummy!
    For the adults – add a nip of something naughty for that extra indulgence!

  28. Carly W October 20, 2014 at 8:28 am #

    Tropicana .. Banana, pineapple and drizzled with fresh passionfruit and toasted coconut.

  29. CLAIRE October 20, 2014 at 8:29 am #

    banana and chocolate Carmel using dates

  30. Mary Preston October 20, 2014 at 8:37 am #

    I think I would go troppo – pineapple, banana, mango, passionfruit. Try to pretend I am on vacation on a tropical island somewhere.

  31. Nicole October 20, 2014 at 8:52 am #

    I would try raspberry and chocolate!

  32. Joanne Cardamone October 20, 2014 at 9:08 am #

    Frozen blueberries with some dark chocolate,

  33. Melissa Robinson October 20, 2014 at 9:10 am #

    What a great and easy way to encourage kids (big and small) to eat a little healthier. I’d have trouble deciding on what flavour combination to try first

  34. karina l October 20, 2014 at 10:03 am #

    Berrylicious combo of blueberries, raspberries, strawberries and pomegranates!

  35. Mick G October 20, 2014 at 10:51 am #

    Strawberries, mango and rose petals (yep try them they are awesome)

  36. Michelle Harrison October 20, 2014 at 11:00 am #

    I would try a banana, mango and strawberry one with shaved chocolate over the top

  37. Jordan October 20, 2014 at 11:07 am #

    I would do bananas, mango, and coconut. Or banana and pumpkin with a peanut butter sauce. Yum! I’ve always wanted a yonanas, hope I win!

  38. shannan sullivan October 20, 2014 at 11:22 am #

    cookies & cream or choc mint ice cream

  39. Sonya Lorenz October 20, 2014 at 11:28 am #

    My combo would be mango, banana and coconut with macadamias! A flavour sensation that the whole family can enjoy!

  40. sapna October 20, 2014 at 11:35 am #

    I would love to make a rainbow ice cream with strawberries, mango /papaya, kiwi fruit, banana, blueberries – each colour in a different layer. It would be an awesome guilt free treat for everyone.

  41. Ilonka Bruce October 20, 2014 at 11:55 am #

    Would love to make a mixed berry combination such as strawberry and blueberry

  42. Erika October 20, 2014 at 12:03 pm #

    Raw Cocoa and Banana for my kids and add pistachios for me. YUM!

  43. jennifer callo October 20, 2014 at 12:05 pm #

    Our family LOVES mangoes & with summer just around the corner, i think I will make mango with swirls of honey toppedwith chopped macadamia and grated white chocolate.

  44. Amanda Gorton October 20, 2014 at 2:15 pm #

    My imagination is running wild with ideas. But as oranges are in abundance at this time of year I would love to try combining dark chocolate and orange. It would be great for either an indulgent treat or even when entertaining friends at home.

  45. Melissa Jones October 20, 2014 at 4:43 pm #

    Mango peach and chocolate flavour!

  46. Caroline October 20, 2014 at 6:02 pm #

    Options are endless! I’d do a pistachio, honeycomb blend I think first!!

  47. Jade October 20, 2014 at 6:12 pm #

    Mango and coconut 🙂

  48. Michelle V October 21, 2014 at 5:36 am #

    I’m a little nutty and I also like my fruits
    So there’s one flavour combination for me that really suits
    A delicious, divine hazlenut mocha creation
    Topped with caramelised banana for a real flavour sensation!

  49. Tamara Lamb October 21, 2014 at 11:40 am #

    I’m a big fan of banana, nutella and honeycomb pieces! Yum

  50. Jemma Hansen October 22, 2014 at 5:13 pm #

    I come for a big stone fruit growing area so I would like to try some combinations using peaches this summer. Banana with peach and Yonanas Melba using peach and raspberry.

  51. Ainsley October 22, 2014 at 7:32 pm #

    My Master 8 and Master 6 are loving smoothies & juices at the moment but with the warmer weather it’d be awesome to try our fave flavour combos in frozen form with the Yonanas machine. The kids favourite here at the moment is banana, blueberry and strawberry so that’s what we’d try first.

  52. Brenda October 22, 2014 at 7:43 pm #

    what other flavour than banana, chocolate and coconut, yum yum.

  53. Amber Board October 22, 2014 at 7:46 pm #

    Banana, raspberry with choc chips and coconut. It’s making my mouth water thinking about it .

  54. sally October 22, 2014 at 7:48 pm #

    Pineapple, watermelon and banana… Yum!

  55. Kate Huitema October 22, 2014 at 8:26 pm #

    Chocolate and banana, our families two favourite flavours and what a great way to enjoy desserts and stay healthy!!!

  56. Dennielle October 22, 2014 at 8:43 pm #

    My little man loves chocolate so would love to try the chocolate and banana. Sounds delicious

  57. Rachael H October 22, 2014 at 9:05 pm #

    Something a little more sinister with bananas, mango, coconut, pineapple and vodka to taste!

  58. Casey October 22, 2014 at 10:22 pm #

    My little girl would love a banana, strawberry and watermelon combination but for summer I’m thinking more along the lines of frozen strawberries with a splash of rum making an easy and healthy daiquiri!!

  59. Hali S. October 22, 2014 at 10:35 pm #

    I would probably do something with banana and strawberry!

  60. Polly October 23, 2014 at 6:10 am #

    Strawberry and banana sounds perfect. But mango season will be starting shortly and that would be my 4yr olds favourite.

  61. craftyone October 23, 2014 at 9:11 am #

    Bananas with pistachio nuts would be my flavor of choice

  62. Lauren October 23, 2014 at 8:36 pm #

    Choc Orange!

  63. Nicole October 23, 2014 at 8:49 pm #

    Mango and strawberry!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.