Review: Target Bellini Super Cook Kitchen Machine

I have been lucky enough to review the Bellini Super Cook Kitchen Machine (Bellini) in the CFBM kitchen.

If you have been a long term reader of my of you will know that I love to use appliances to make my life easier in the kitchen.  I would rate the food processor as the appliance that gets the biggest work out each week.

The addition of the Bellini to my kitchen is like adding a food processor on steroids with another 12 functions. It takes cooking in an appliance to the next level!

After using it for a little while I am going to give a quick run through on what it does, what I like about it the most and how it fits into the daily cooking. I also have an easy dip recipe and all the details on where you can get one.

The 13 functions

The Bellini Super Cook Kitchen Machine can do a staggering 13 functions:

1. Pureeing – soups, sauces, vegetables, fruits
2. Mixing – smoothies, shakes, cocktails, cake/muffin/pancake batter
3. Pulverising – make your own icing sugar!
4. Grinding – grind nuts into a peanut butter, almond meal
5. Rasping – break fruits and vegetables down into smaller pieces – save on cutting time
6. Chopping – chop onions (no more tears), garlic (no more smelly hands and benches) and nuts
7. Emulsifying – make mayonnaise, dressings, cream
8. Grating – grate hard cheeses, make breadcrumbs
9. Stirring – Beat dough, egg whites and whip cream
10. Kneading
11./12. Frying and Cooking – Temperatures 40 – 130 degree celicus
13. Steaming using the cooking basket.  Perfect for steaming fish, cooking chicken breasts, steaming vegetables

That’s a lot of functions for one machine.

What have I loved most?

What I have loved the most about the Bellini is the ability to chop, cook and mix in the same pot.  For example I cooked Taco Mince while not having to be in the kitchen to stir and make sure it didn’t burn.  The Bellini chopped the onion, garlic and carrot it then cooked the meat while stirring it.  No hot stove on and one jug to clean.

IMG_9696

Taco Mince all prepared and cooked in the Bellini Super Cook Kitchen Machine

I also love that  I can now grind things like peanuts to make my own peanut butter.  It makes light work of those hard nuts!

IMG_9716

Peanut Butter – 2 Ingredients – Peanuts and Oil!

What I can’t wait to try?

I am really looking forward to making my own mayonnaise and icing sugar.  Turning basic ingredients into something that costs more to buy then make will keep my budget happy.

How do I think it fits into a busy family?

Plain and simple – it gives you your hands back.  You don’t have to be stuck to the bench chopping vegetables for the nights dinner, or stirring a pot to make sure it doesn’t stick.  After the initial steps to get everything going you can set and let it do the work for you.

IMG_9666

While the taco mince cooked, I tackled bath time. Guess what? I didn’t return to a burnt mess.

Will it turn you into a better cook?

It comes programmed with 36 recipes and you can download more at www.supercook.me so if you don’t like cooking or find following a recipe challenging it will guide you every step of the way.  You can even add your own favourite recipes from other website to the SD card.  So yes you will cook a little better with the built in recipe help.

I enjoy cooking, will this take the enjoyment away?

This is what I have always thought about any thermo style cooking appliance.  But the truth is you actually get the learn a new style of cooking and experiment with different recipes you may not of normally made.  So it actually builds on your great cooking skills.

Overall conclusion on the new Bellini?

It is a very capable machine that is a welcomed and worthy addition to any family kitchen.  Once you get to know exactly what it can do and you build a repertoire of family favourite recipes it will become the ultimate saviour on those nights where you don’t feel like cooking or are running late and need dinner on the table quick smart.

The new Bellini is going to give some more expensive counterparts a run for their money.  The price is more realistic for a family budget and you still get 98% of the same functions. The 2% that it doesn’t have that the other main competitor has is: built in scales (comes with external scales) and the reverse function (comes with stirring blade).

If you have any questions you would like answered, leave them for me in the comments.

Check back next week for what else I have been cooking!

Where can I get one?

Exclusive to Target

Bellini Super Cook Kitchen Machine retails for RRP $899. On Sale for $699 until 25th March 2015. EXTENDED UNTIL 31ST MARCH 2015.

Some more info:

• 13 functions
• Can operate at up to 130 degrees
• 1000 watts cooking power & 500 watts mixing power
• 10 speed multi and turbo mixing functions
• Weight scale
• 2 Litre jug
• Everyday essential – can literally complete all kitchen needs
• Yumi Control System with its own recipe collection and access to 1000 plus free online recipes (36 installed on the included SD card)

As part of Target’s ‘Massive Home Sale’ the Bellini Super Cook Kitchen Machine will be on special via Target’s online store only, from 12 March for $699. Free Delivery. On sale only until March 25 2015. EXTENDED UNTIL 31ST MARCH 2015.

Dips made easy!

Sweet Potato, Parmesan and Cashew Dip in the Bellini
500gm uncooked, diced Sweet Potato
100gm Paramsen
100gm Cashews
Olive Oil
Salt and Pepper

1. Add water 1/2 up in the jug. Place the basket in the jug. Add the sweet potato.  Set to 110 degree celcius, speed 1 for 20 minutes.  This will cook the sweet potato. Once finished remove the basket with the cooked sweet potato and place in the fridge to cool.  Discard of the water.
2. Using the chopping blade. Add the parmesan cut into large chunks. Set to speed 6 for 10 seconds. Start.
3. Add the cashews. Set to speed 5 for 10 seconds. Start.
4. Return the cooled sweet potato to the jug, a drizzle of olive oil and some salt and pepper.  Set to speed 3 for 20 seconds. Start.

Use the spatula to remove the dip and serve with some cooked pita bread.

This makes a large serve.  Store in an airtight container in the fridge for up to 5 days.

Perfect to take to a party, for afternoon tea or the school lunch box.

Check back next week as I give you an update on how I have progressed with the Bellini after 3 weeks of ownership.

Bellini Super Cook Kitchen Machine

This is a sponsored post for Target. I was also gifted a Bellini Super Cook Kitchen Machine to review.  All opinions, photos and recipes expressed are my own.  This is my review of the product and how it fits into my life.

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
(Visited 9,807 times, 4 visits today)

41 Responses to Review: Target Bellini Super Cook Kitchen Machine

  1. alecia March 17, 2015 at 10:56 am #

    Does this machine have inbuilt scales?

    • Amanda March 17, 2015 at 12:34 pm #

      Hi Alecia, as mentioned above no it doesn’t have built in scales, however scales are included with it.

  2. Charmaine March 19, 2015 at 9:21 pm #

    I have heard that this machine is very noisy. What are your thoughts?

    • Amanda March 21, 2015 at 1:02 pm #

      Hi Charmaine, I have read in comparison to its more expensive counterpart it is a little noisier. But for me it is no louder then my food processor or bench mixer.

    • Lyn April 16, 2015 at 11:31 pm #

      The thermomix is also noisey esp on the fast settings

  3. Brett March 21, 2015 at 4:32 pm #

    Can you create your own flours using this machine? For example, can the machine be used to create coconut flour?

    Thanks heaps

    Brett

    • Amanda March 22, 2015 at 9:31 am #

      Hi Brett, I have been reading some threads in the Bellini Addicts group and yes it will mill your own flour the general consensus is that it doesn’t get it as fine as the more expensive counterpart but it still does the job.

  4. Carlene March 22, 2015 at 5:21 pm #

    Hi, how does it grate food? Does it come with a grating attachment? I had the stand Bellini kitchen machine and that doesn’t grate. I assumed this machine was the same, just a digital version. Many thanks x

    • Amanda March 23, 2015 at 7:43 pm #

      Hi Carlene, there is no grating as such. But it is replaced with the chopping function which if a hot recipe called for grated carrot, you would simply chop it and get the same result once cooked.

  5. Kree March 23, 2015 at 4:55 pm #

    Hi, thanks for your review I have just received mine however the supercook.me site won’t accept my serial number, any tips?

    • Amanda March 23, 2015 at 7:36 pm #

      Hi Kree, did you use the number on the back of the machine? Make sure you haven’t used a zero in place of the letter o

      • Kree March 24, 2015 at 5:10 pm #

        Hi Amanda,

        Got back onto Bellini and it turns out to be a glitch but the lovely lady at Bellini fixed it & now I’m ready to go, thanks.

  6. Bronnie - Maid In Australia March 24, 2015 at 11:09 pm #

    OMG – Have a few friends who have bought a Bellini and it sounds amazing. Following the whole #thermogate scandal it sounds even better. Much more affordable too. Thanks for the review.

  7. Lyn April 16, 2015 at 11:28 pm #

    I just tried to buy a Bellini super cook and the discounted price has dissapeared off the Target online site I would like to purchase at the $699 price please respond

    • Amanda April 18, 2015 at 6:46 pm #

      Hi Lyn, as stated the promotional price finished on the 31 March 2015

  8. Elle May 6, 2015 at 4:42 pm #

    I’m really interested in buying a Bellini but I’m finding it hard to find information on how long cooking times are? I can see some recipes on the supercook website that mention meals like butter chicken or beef stroganoff. Does the Bellini cook these like a slow cooker or are the times more comparable to stovetop cooking? I like this machine as I am time poor so if these type of meals are going to take more than an hour then I don’t think this machine is for me! Any feedback would be fantastic 🙂

    • Amanda May 8, 2015 at 7:24 pm #

      Hi Elle, the times are more comparable to stove top cooking. I have found that I can replace a lot of stove top dishes with the Bellini. Alot of the recipes for this style of cooking are around the 30 minute mark. Hope that helps.

  9. Kate Hassen May 7, 2015 at 12:48 pm #

    Hi! Lived reading your review as currently tring to make comparisons between all the machines – can I ask, can you slow cook in the bellini? Apologies if I missed this in your review!
    Thanks!

    • Amanda May 8, 2015 at 7:23 pm #

      Hi Kate, no you can’t slow cook in it. This is the same for most of these thermo style cookers.

  10. Maxine May 8, 2015 at 7:23 pm #

    Hi,
    I have just purchased the Bellins supercook, but when i try to register the product I keep getting a message that the serial number is invalid.
    Do you have any ideas on how to fix this.

    I cannot get onto the help site because it seems you have to be registered first.
    Hoping you can help.
    Thanks Maxine.

    • Amanda May 8, 2015 at 7:27 pm #

      Hi Maxine, I had another follower with the same problem. I believe she called them. Was there a phone number on the manual (I don’t have mine handy). They were able to help her from there.

  11. Lucinda May 8, 2015 at 8:54 pm #

    Hi There,
    I’m debating between two Bellini models; the older Intelli and the super cook. I’ve not used a machine like this before, but am struggling to see if there is much difference between the machines. Can you tell me if the functions are different, and what the benefits are of the newer machine? I see that neither have an in-built scale… is it only that the newer version has a flashy touch screen?
    Thanks!

  12. Fiona Kennedy May 20, 2015 at 5:36 pm #

    Great to read your review. I have just collected my Bellini800X today. So excited I gave it a clean and started to apply the settings. Fine with time and date, BUT…….I can’t get the Temp function to work, any suggestions?

    • Amanda May 21, 2015 at 6:25 pm #

      Hi Fiona, Make sure you set a time and a speed then the temperature. You can only use the heat up to speed 4.

  13. Sylvia May 28, 2015 at 5:37 pm #

    I have just bought the new Bellini supercook and it does not have a pulse button like the old one and I’m finding the instruction booklet a little hard to follow., Thanks

    • Amanda June 2, 2015 at 11:42 am #

      Hi Sylvia, I never owned the other model so not familiar with pulsing. It does have the stop/pause button though so you can start and stop it easily during the set time period.

  14. Jean Barber May 29, 2015 at 3:51 pm #

    Hi, I love my Bellini but am confused about how to use the stirring blade instead of reverse. Can you please explain. Thank you.

    • Amanda June 2, 2015 at 11:40 am #

      Basically if you aren’t chopping anything and just mixing you use the blunt blade which correlates to the reverse function in the thermomix. I never need to change blades during a recipe. If I know it has any chopping involved I just use the chopping blade for the whole recipe.

  15. margaret June 1, 2015 at 5:43 pm #

    Can you make vegetable smoothies like you can in a nutra bullit ? Ie with carrots celery nuts etc

    • Amanda June 2, 2015 at 11:37 am #

      Hi Margaret, it doesn’t really break the vegetables down like a nutri bullet does.

  16. Gwen Ferry August 17, 2015 at 4:46 pm #

    How much is the Bellini when it is on special? I am a little pushed for cash right now but would like to get one. When is it due to come on special?

    • Tova September 11, 2015 at 2:52 pm #

      Hi Gwen,

      It is on special now $499

  17. Kate September 23, 2015 at 1:07 pm #

    Hi Amanda, Thanks for your review. I am contemplating whether i really need one or not ( I want one but do I need one?!) and your review gave me a better idea of its ability than the addicts page. After having yours for a while do you still feel it is a life changer?

    Thanks

    • Amanda September 29, 2015 at 12:45 pm #

      Hi Kate. After having the Bellini for several months I don’t believe it is a game changer in my cooking. It is definetly a helping hand as in regards to food prep. I highly recommend that you only purchase one if you have the bench space for it. If it is on the bench you will use it more and it is too heavy to be lugging in and out of the cupboard. It makes perfect cake and muffin batter, dips and mashed potato. I have only made a couple of main meals as I enjoy cooking and find the cooking process better using my stove or oven. Hope that helps.

  18. Helen September 27, 2015 at 5:44 pm #

    Have just purchased the Bellini super cook but not sure what MC means in the recipe book. Does it mean measured cup or what?? Im confused 🙁
    Many thanks
    Helen 🙂

    • Amanda September 29, 2015 at 12:39 pm #

      Hi Helen, MC means measuring cup and is the plastic cup that goes into the top of the lid.

  19. Michelle October 11, 2015 at 3:05 pm #

    Hi I can’t find anywhere what temp increments the supercook has only that you can’t select between 40-130. I am very interested in the mycook or hotmix pro because of 1 degree increments for sous vide.

    • Amanda October 15, 2015 at 2:59 pm #

      Hi Michelle, it goes up in increments of 5

  20. Jess November 9, 2015 at 2:00 pm #

    Hi
    I found your review sooo helpful. I nearly brought a thermomix yesterday BUT I changed my mind when adding the costs up compared to this machine. I’m getting excited to order it! My questions are does it allows you to chop things in different sizes?
    Does it allows you to make something like milo mixed with milk and then heat it, instead of putting into microwave?
    So I can cook potatoes and then use the same machine to mash it also?
    My last question is smoothies and fruit ice cream – I’m currently using a magic bullet and I find it doesn’t break up all peices of fruit do you think this machine would fix my problem here?
    Thanks so much jess

    • Amanda November 10, 2015 at 5:54 pm #

      Hi Jess, it chops things up so the less time and speed the chunkier they will be, the faster and longer the smaller they will be. Yes you can make the hot chocolate in the jug. Yes you cook the potatoes in the jug and then speed it up to mash at the end. Google never fail mash in thermomix. Yes you can blend fruits to make ice creams. For smoothies it doesn’t really get them as smooth as a blender that is dedicated to making green smoothies and the likes. Hope that has helped.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.