Cake 2 The Rescue

Review + Giveaway (closed): Cake 2 The Rescue

On the blog this week we are taking a look at Cake 2 The Rescue, do it yourself cake kits. I don’t know about you, but I find the cake to be the most challenging part of my sons birthday parties.

The reason I find them challenging is that I either spend a fortune gathering all the little bits and pieces I need, I normally use a photo and try and recreate it sometimes with many little stuff ups, hair pulling out, stressed out (I am over this cake) moments. I the later years my cakes have ended up being very basic (and not really impressive) because of these reasons.

This is where Cake 2 The Rescue really does come to the rescue.  You simply browse their website and select the cake you would like, purchase and it is delivered to your door with everything you need to create your cake (no running around store to store trying to source all the bits and pieces you need and quality you can trust).  Depending on the cake you choose you will receive:

  • Disposable Baking Tray
  • Silver Cake Board
  • Silver Cake Slice
  • Rolling Pin (if required)
  • Candles Recipe (genius I always call Mum the morning of the party asking her to pick up candles)
  • Sponge Cake and Icing Mix
  • Fondant Icing Kit with Disposable Gloves
  • Pre-coloured Fondants
  • Everything you Need to Decorate your Chosen Design

Cake 2 The Rescue Review Cake 2 The Rescue Review

Clear instructions and a template a provide so you know what you are doing 100% of the time.  There are also short videos to help you with icing, using fondant and more.

LETS GET CAKE MAKING

I chose the T-Rex cake for my dinosaur crazy boys.  Lou did mention that this was one of the harder cakes to make so I was a little scared to start with as I thought I’d “stuff” it up.  I haven’t successfully used fondant in the past so normally stear clear of it.

I powered on with the confidence of the instructions provided and in a little over an hour I stood back with a smile on my face, compared my cake to the photo and said yeah I’ve nailed it!  Once I was finished I wasn’t stressed out and I didn’t have a mega mess everywhere (because everything is individually packaged it was easy to keep the mess under control) I had a T-Rex cake that I was pretty proud of and the boys thought it was amazing.

I give the Cake 2 The Rescue cake kits the BUSY MUM APPROVAL.

Cake 2 The Rescue Review

Cake 2 The Rescue Review

GIVEAWAY

I have one cake of your choice to win.  Simply use the rafflecopter widget and answer this easy question:

Visit the Cake 2 The Rescue Website and tell me which cake you would like to make and why? 

This is a game of skill.  Open to Australian Residents Only. The winner has until 31st December 2015 to claim their cake. Full terms and conditions in the rafflecopter widget. GIVEAWAY IS CLOSED

THE WINNER IS MIKAELA COWAN

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
(Visited 311 times, 4 visits today)

, ,

64 Responses to Review + Giveaway (closed): Cake 2 The Rescue

  1. Gemma Westacott Blair August 5, 2015 at 7:02 pm #

    I love this idea! Would take away so much stress of making the ‘perfect’ cake. My daughter would love the Ballerina Cake, as she’s just stared ballet classes and adores it. I also attempted to make a similar princess cake a couple of years ago and made a complete mess of it. Ended up using marshmallows as the skirt’s decorations to try and disguise the mess! I think it’s time I redeemed myself. Lol.

  2. Leigh isabeth August 5, 2015 at 9:03 pm #

    My son would love the monster truck cake.. He’s crazy for cars, especially big noisy ones

  3. Christina August 5, 2015 at 9:56 pm #

    Love the Kitty Cake! We love cats in our household and the cake looks creamy and yummy

  4. sapna August 5, 2015 at 10:36 pm #

    I would choose the MINION CAKE KIT for my son’s birthday simply because it will make him super happy & save my sanity because these kits are jut awesome & makes the whole process so easy.

  5. Leanne Fisher August 5, 2015 at 10:53 pm #

    I love the colourfulness of the catterpillar cake, it’s like being out in the sunshine looking for critters

  6. Susannah August 6, 2015 at 7:06 am #

    Birdhouse cake kit, it would be beautiful for my mum in her old age she loves birdhouse s and birds it’s really sweet

  7. Selina August 6, 2015 at 7:12 am #

    it’s my daughters birthday next week and the rolerskate cake would have been a perfect match for her present (Yep, roller skates!). However – as this would probably be the only cake I will ever make that doesn’t look like my interpretation of a mudslide, then I’d have to choose the minion cake – because both my kids love minions and they’d both be pretty proud to share that with their mates.

  8. Narelle Rock August 6, 2015 at 8:33 am #

    the Bowling Pin cake, exactly what I need for my son’t birthday, he has a party booked at AMF with 10 of his friends!

  9. Melissa K August 6, 2015 at 9:39 am #

    The Minion cake kit would be perfect for my Minion loving 7 year old’s next birthday!

  10. Joanne Emery August 6, 2015 at 9:46 am #

    Love the Owlet Cake – she’s so cute! Would be perfect for my granddaughter’s first birthday coming up soon, and I love the idea of everything being included in one kit, so much better than trying to source everything seperately. I think I could do this!

  11. Melissa August 6, 2015 at 10:07 am #

    Birdy cake kit is amazing! Wish I saw this when I attempted my angry bird cake disaster.

  12. Sharon Markwell August 6, 2015 at 10:14 am #

    The Butterfly Cake Kit from Cake 2 The Rescue would have my butterfly-obsessed little one doing cartwheels in excitement.

  13. Charisse Childs August 6, 2015 at 11:43 am #

    Ninja Cake Kit, my son has asked for the blue lego ninjago set for his birthday so this would be best cake for him, but I think I’d need this kit for the instructions on getting the folds on the face right as it looks quite difficult to me!

  14. Kirsten W August 6, 2015 at 11:56 am #

    Any – because any of these would be better than my disasters in the past!

  15. Sonya N. August 6, 2015 at 12:42 pm #

    The Birdhouse Cake Kit, because it looks simple yet really pretty, and my daughter has just asked for a birdhouse for her 8th birthday so it’d be the perfect cake for her!

  16. Nic T. August 6, 2015 at 12:49 pm #

    I love the rocket because my son loves rockets and it’s his 4th birthday at the end of September and he would love this cake!

  17. James August 6, 2015 at 12:49 pm #

    MUM CAKE KIT to make a delish and swish cake for my darling wife mother of my four children!

  18. carly August 6, 2015 at 1:01 pm #

    birdhouse cake kit

  19. Lucy Saal August 6, 2015 at 1:05 pm #

    I love to bake and especially love making cakes for and with the kids!

  20. Kelly Brown August 6, 2015 at 4:40 pm #

    There are so many wonderful cakes to choose from! I choose Pikachu (Chu Chu Cake Kit). Thanks 🙂

  21. lynne lillington August 6, 2015 at 8:41 pm #

    BATMAN CAKE KIT, I’d love to review this for my batman crazy family from granddad to bubs they all dress up as Batman. I think this is a cake I could start with . and Batman would be pleased.

  22. Nicole August 6, 2015 at 10:01 pm #

    I would love to make the Turtle cake for my TMNT obsessed son!

  23. Rosemarie De Bari August 7, 2015 at 11:39 am #

    The Art Palette cake – for my budding little artist!

  24. Sarah Armstrong August 7, 2015 at 3:00 pm #

    The C MONSTER cake kit. My little 2 year old can totally relate to the way he eats.

  25. Linda Courtney August 7, 2015 at 3:08 pm #

    I’d love to make the Daffodil Teapot Cake for my girls to enjoy at morning tea.

  26. Erin Galvin August 7, 2015 at 8:05 pm #

    Would love the minions cake kit.

  27. Nicole August 7, 2015 at 8:22 pm #

    I would love the any of the baker girls fantastic cakes as they mak it so easy for us parents. I would choose the princess castle cake for my daughter’s 3rd birthday

  28. elle August 7, 2015 at 9:59 pm #

    Fabulous idea! I would love to get the zombie cake because it looks challenging, my kids would love this idea too!

  29. Stacey August 7, 2015 at 10:03 pm #

    You know it is seriously cruel to make me pick just one… but I really do love your cute owls; we have no kids, but my parents are getting on and my husband bakes better than me… it’d be something really quite cool for the 3 of us to do 🙂

  30. Stacey Shailer August 7, 2015 at 10:59 pm #

    The UNICORN CAKE KIT, my daughter loves them and it would be wonderful to give her a beautiful unicorn birthday cake 🙂

  31. manda August 8, 2015 at 5:09 am #

    The train kit.

  32. Tamara Lamb August 8, 2015 at 6:52 pm #

    As a Mum of 3 Lego mad boys, I love the building blocks set! Absolutely getting that for the next cake I need to make!

  33. Clare Eli August 8, 2015 at 7:52 pm #

    I have my eye on that minion cake! Amazing!

  34. Tracy Spillane August 9, 2015 at 4:54 pm #

    I’d love the kitty cake, so pretty!

  35. Leanne white August 9, 2015 at 5:55 pm #

    I have never seen any so cute…the birds house is just amazing with such subtle colours. I d love this for my 45th birthday!

  36. Kristina S August 9, 2015 at 8:16 pm #

    ART PALETTE CAKE KIT, I have 2 art & craft loving girls so this would be a piece of cake for them to help me create 🙂

  37. Kerryanne bourke August 9, 2015 at 9:16 pm #

    Smurfs is a favorite in our house so we couldnt go past the Toadstool (Red) Cake Kit!

  38. Heather August 10, 2015 at 8:09 am #

    The Digger cake. My little treasure has his excavator sitting on his high chair all the time, it even eats what he is eating!

  39. Kristie August 10, 2015 at 8:27 am #

    Fantastic opportunity to be able to make my kids cakes like the professionals.

  40. Meghan Flynn August 10, 2015 at 11:11 am #

    I would love to spoil my Mum with the Mum cake kit, I can just picture her surprised face when i go for a visit with this masterpiece in my hand.

  41. Donna Dwyer August 10, 2015 at 2:56 pm #

    Puppy Babe Cake Kit – we’ve recently welcomed a new dog into our home – a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel called Lady and she looks exactly like this cake!! As Lady has brought so much joy to our family, a cake representation of her will be a perfect cake for any of us!!

  42. Tracy Harris August 10, 2015 at 3:14 pm #

    I love the Little Duck Cake Kit – so cute. However I am desperately looking for a Harry Potter/Wizard cake kit…if you are looking for ideas

  43. Russell August 10, 2015 at 4:57 pm #

    Would love to make the cookie monster cake with my little cookie munching monsters! C is for Cake 2 The Rescue 🙂

  44. Elisabeth Martins August 10, 2015 at 7:39 pm #

    I am loving the birdhouse cake kit because it can be made for adults or kids, its a beautiful yet versatile cake.

    Good luck everyone 🙂

  45. Becky S August 10, 2015 at 8:03 pm #

    DUMP TRUCK CAKE KIT

  46. Alicia Bardsley August 10, 2015 at 8:29 pm #

    Rainbow Cake Kit – for my daughter who adores rainbows and would love a rainbow cake for her next birthday

  47. Lucy August 10, 2015 at 9:09 pm #

    Mr soon to be 2 is having a digger party so the Digger cake would be a HUGE hit -he’d really dig it lol ???

  48. Angela Meehan August 10, 2015 at 9:38 pm #

    With my baby girls turning 5 in September 2 little fairy cakes would make their birthday even more special Growing up too fast !

  49. R. McCarthy August 10, 2015 at 10:13 pm #

    With my daughters 6th birthday coming up i was looking for ideas and i came across the Ballet cake and i knew that this is the cake ive been looking for. My daughter loves to dance and is doing exceptionally well, hence why the Ballet cake is perfect!!!

  50. Ash August 10, 2015 at 10:36 pm #

    Definitely the Kitty Cake kit for my Miss 6! She would love it! My track record is terrible (including a drunk bloodshot eyed owl and lopsided rainbow cake with pastel orangey pinky icing somehow??) and if I can’t succeed with a cake 2 the rescue kit – I will give up and it’ll be Coles mud cakes for my little ones!!

  51. Abby Lee August 11, 2015 at 12:12 am #

    Definitely the Batman cake kit 🙂

  52. Laura Scriven August 11, 2015 at 7:55 am #

    Bob the Builder is my boy’s thing,
    That’s the tune he always sings!
    So the DIGGER CAKE KIT,
    Would be a real hit.

  53. Trudy August 11, 2015 at 9:08 am #

    I would choose the Lion Roar cake kit because we always sing to our youngest, Ryan the Raa Raa song but we change the words to “Ry Ry, you are a noisy little Ryan”. And he loves lions and tigers so his face would light up if he had a cake like that for his second birthday

  54. julie bennett August 11, 2015 at 11:36 am #

    monster truck cake for my little mans upcoming birthday its so boyish and just lots of fun

  55. Stacey Gladman August 11, 2015 at 12:29 pm #

    Nananana it’s Batman! The Batman kit would be perfect for my son’s first birthday next month – Batman is the theme kapow!

  56. Mikaela C August 11, 2015 at 2:20 pm #

    My little ballerina would love the Ballet cake kit,
    getting this on her birthday will have her spinning
    with joy!

    • Amanda August 13, 2015 at 8:42 pm #

      Congratulations you are the winner, check your email.

  57. Lola sader August 11, 2015 at 5:55 pm #

    The Snowflake princess cake looks so sweet my daughter would absolutely love it!!!

  58. joanne winney August 11, 2015 at 8:36 pm #

    My son has told me he must have the “Yoda” cake for his 4th birthday later this year. His sister recently had a cake2 rescue “Minion” cake, It was a big hit & he can’t wait for his turn to choose.

  59. joanne winney August 11, 2015 at 8:42 pm #

    My son said he must have the “Yoda” cake for his birthday.
    His sister just had the “Minion” cake, He can’t wait for his turn.

  60. Aimy August 11, 2015 at 9:06 pm #

    I would love to win the Digger Cake Kit because…..well, if I could upload a picture of my attempt at one, you would clearly see I need to be rescued!

  61. Daniela Barbaro August 11, 2015 at 9:14 pm #

    The minion cake mix, my kids love all minion things….they think they are hilarious

  62. Neil August 11, 2015 at 9:36 pm #

    The rocket cake would be an out of this world surprise for our little space man!

  63. Theoni Versace August 11, 2015 at 10:05 pm #

    Definitely the “monkey” cake for our littlest girl who is a total monkey herself!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.